The Catholic University of America

ASL  |  Arabic  |  Chinese  |  French  |  German  |  Irish  |  Italian |  Portuguese  |  Spanish

 

Faculty and Instructors 

 

Luis Bello-Zarallo

 

Lecturer, Spanish

Contact Information 
Email:  93bellozarallo@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

Claudia Bornholdt

Acting Dean Arts & Sciences

Associate Professor, German

Contact Information                    
Email:  Bornholdt@cua.edu
Office:   MCM115
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

 

 

Gonzalo S. Campos Dintrans

Clinical Assistant Professor, Spanish

    Contact Information    
Email: Camposdintrans@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401D
Tel: 202-319-5240

 

 

Daniel E. Colón

Clinical Assistant Professor, Spanish

Undergraduate Advisor, Spanish 

Contact Information                    
Email: Colon@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

 

 

 Jessica Cappellini

Lecturer, Italian

Contact Information                    

Email:  Cappellini@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

 

 

 

  Bruno M. Damiani

Ordinary Professor of Spanish

    Contact Information                    
Email: Damiani@cua.edu
Office:   MCM204
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
  
 

Anna Deeny

Visiting Assistant Professor, Spanish

Contact Information
Email: Deeny@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
 

 Ramata Eller 

Lecturer, French

On leave 2014-2015

    Contact Information                    

Email:  Eller@cua.edu
Office:   MCM206
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
   

 

 

Serena Ferrando

Clinical Assistant Professor, Italian

Italian Academic Advisor

Contact Information  

Email:  Ferrando@cua.edu
Office:    MCM403
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

 

   

Kerstin T. Gaddy

Assistant Dean of Undergraduate in Arts & Sciences
 

    Contact Information                    
Email: Gaddy@cua.edu
Office:   MCM117
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
   

 Daniel García-Donoso

Assistant Professor, Spanish

Director of Graduate Studies

Director of Certificate in European Studies


Contact Information                    
Email: Garciadonoso@cua.edu
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-6856
 
 

Valeria Garino

Senior Lecturer, Italian

    Contact Information                    
Email: Garino@cua.edu
Office:   MCM403
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
   

Elena Gutierrez

Lecturer, Spanish

Contact Information
Email: 79Gutierrez@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
 

Jean-Michel Heimonet

Ordinary Professor of French

    Contact Information                    
Email: Heimonet@cua.edu
Office:   MCM
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
  
 

Shufen Hwang

Clinical Instructor, Chinese 

Contact Information                    
Email: Hwang@cua.edu
Office:   MCM402A
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
 
 

Margaret Ann Kassen

Interim Chair, Dept. of Modern Languages & Literatures

Language Coordinator

Associate Professor of French and Spanish

 

 

    Contact Information                    
Email: Kassen@cua.edu
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
   
 

Dolores Lima

Clinical Assistant Professor, Spanish

    Contact Information                    
Email: Lima@cua.edu
Office:   MCM402D
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
   
 

Stefania Lucamante

Ordinary Professor of Italian and Comparative Literature 

    Contact Information                    
Email: Lucamante@cua.edu
Office:   MCM210
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
   
 

Hanna H. Marks

Associate Professor of German

On leave  2014

    Contact Information                    
Email: Marks@cua.edu
Office:   MCM109B
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
 
 

Jennifer Ann Maxwell 

Director of Spanish for Health Care Program

Lecturer , Spanish

    Contact Information                    
Email: Maxwellj@cua.edu
Office:   MCM402B
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
 

Charmaine McMahon

Clinical Assistant Professor, Spanish

    Contact Information                    
Email: Mcmahonc@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401F
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
 

 Jennifer O'Riordan

Lecturer, French, Irish Language and Culture

    Contact Information                    
Email: oriordan@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
      
 

Mario A. Ortiz 

Associate Provost for International Affairs

Associate Professor of Spanish 

 

 

    Contact Information                    
Email: Ortizm@cua.edu
Office:   MCM
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
 

Mayka S. Puente de Righi                              

Placement Coordinator

Contact Information                    
Email:  55puentederi@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM206
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
  
 

Raluca Romaniuc

Clinical Assistant Professor, French

Contact Information
Email:  romaniuc@cua.edu
Office:    MCM402C
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

 

 

Katharina Rudolf

Clinical Assistant Professor, German
Contact Information
Email: Rudolf@cua.edu 
Office:   MCM206B
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

 

 

Amanda Sheffer

Clinical Assistant Professor, German

German Academic Advisor

Contact Information                    
Email: Sheffer@cua.edu
Office:   MCM206B
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
   

Peter Shoemaker

Director of the University Honors Program

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs, Arts and Sciences  

Associate Professor of French

 

Contact Information                    
Email: Shoemaker@cua.edu
Office:   MCM112A
Tel: 202-319-5114
   
 

Chelsea Stieber

Assistant Professor, French

Internship Coordinator 

French Academic Advisor

Contact Information
Email: Stieber@cua.edu
Office:   MCM210
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

 

Kamaleddine Tabine

 Lecturer, Modern Standard Arabic

Contact Information                    
Email:   Tabine@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

Emeriti

Joan Tasker Grimbert 

Ordinary Professor of French & Medieval Studies(Emerita)

Contact Information
Email:  Grimbert@cua.edu
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

 

Mario A. Rojas

Ordinary Professor of Spanish(Emeritus)

Contact Information
Email:  Rojas@cua.edu
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
 

Chad C. Wright

Associate Professor of Spanish(Retired) 

    Contact Information                    
Email: Wrightc@cua.edu
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
   

Staffs

 

Flor M Argueta

Assistant to Chair

    Contact Information                    
Email: Arguetaf@cua.edu 
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
   
 

Koorosh Azhandeh

Media Director

    Contact Information                    
Email: Azhandeh@cua.edu
Office:   MCM204
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
  
 

Christopher R. Brush

Administrative Assistant

    Contact Information                    
Email: Brush@cua.edu
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

Teaching Fellows

Andre dos Santos

Fulbright Scholar, Portuguese

Contact Information

Email: 02alvesdossantos@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM402A
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

Yung-Yung Chang                 

 Teaching Fellow, Chinese

 

 

Contact Information

Email: 37chang@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM402A
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

 

Nélida Devesa Gómez 

Teaching Fellow, Spanish

 Contact Information
Email: 44devesagmez@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
 

Hernán Jara Droguett

Teaching Fellow, Spanish

    Contact Information

Email: 17droguett@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

 

   

María José Gutiérrez

Teaching Fellow, Spanish

Contact Information     
Email: 76gutierrez@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

   

Julanne Murphy

Fulbright Irish Language Teaching Assistant

Contact Information

Email: 39murphy@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
 

Patricia G. Diaz Suzarte

Teaching Fellow, Spanish

Contact Information

Email: 54diazsuzarte@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240