The Catholic University of America

ASL  |  Arabic  |  Chinese  |  French  |  German  |  Irish  |  Italian |  Portuguese  |  Spanish

 

Faculty and Instructors 

Gizem Arslan

 

Visiting Assistant Professor,

German

Contact Information 
Email:  arslan@cua.edu
Office:   MCM206B1
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

Claudia Bornholdt

Acting Dean Arts & Sciences

Associate Professor, German

Contact Information                    
Email:  Bornholdt@cua.edu
Office:   MCM109
Tel: 202-319-5115
   
 

 

 

Anne Calderon

 

Clinical Assistant Professor, Spanish

Contact Information 
Email:  calderon@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401E
Tel: 202-319-6856
 

Gonzalo S. Campos Dintrans

Clinical Assistant Professor, Spanish

Spanish Heritage Learner and Legal Clinic specialist

Contact Information                    
Email: camposdintrans@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401D
Tel: 202-319-6856
   

 

 

Jessica Cappellini

Lecturer, Italian

    Contact Information    
Email: cappellini@cua.edu
Office:   MCM403
Tel: 202-319-5240

 

 

Daniel E. Colón

Clinical Assistant Professor, Spanish

On leave, 2015-2016 

Contact Information                    
Email: Colon@cua.edu
Office:    
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

 

 

 Bruno M. Damiani

Ordinary Professor of Spanish

Contact Information                    

Email:  damiani@cua.edu
Office:   MCM204B
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

 

 

 

Kerstin T. Gaddy

Assistant Dean of Undergraduate in Arts & Sciences 

    Contact Information                    
Email: gaddy@cua.edu
Office:   MCM107
Tel: 202-319-5114
 
  
 

Daniel García-Donoso

Assistant Professor, Spanish

Director, Spanish Graduate Studies

Director, Certificate in European Studies

Contact Information
Email: Garciadonoso@cua.edu
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
 

Valeria Garino

Senior Lecturer, Italian

Contact Information  

Email:  garino@cua.edu
Office:    MCM403
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

 

   

Elizabeth Guthrie

Instructor, Arabic

Arabic Program Coordinator


 

    Contact Information                    
Email: guthriee@cua.edu
Office:   MCM 401C
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
   

 Elena Gutierrez

 

Lecturer, Spanish

Contact Information                    
Email: 79gutierrez@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-6541
 
 

Jean-Michel Heimonet

Ordinary Professor of French

    Contact Information                    
Email: heimonet@cua.edu
Office:   MCM206B2
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
   
 

Shufen Hwang

Clinical Instructor, Chinese

    Contact Information                    
Email: hwang@cua.edu
Office:   MCM402A
Tel: 202-319-6857
 
  
 

Hélène G. Jouin

 

Clinical Instructor, French

Contact Information                    
Email: jouin@cua.edu
Office:   MCM402C
Tel: 202-319-6857
 
 

Margaret Ann Kassen

Interim Chair, Dept. of Modern Languages & Literatures

Associate Professor of French and Spanish

Contact Information

Email: kassen@cua.edu
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240 
 
 

Joshua Kueh

 

Lecturer, Spanish

 

 

    Contact Information                    
Email: kueh@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-6541
 
   
 

Tom Leoni

Instructor, Italian

    Contact Information                    
Email: 41leoni@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM403
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
   
 

Stefania Lucamante

Ordinary Professor of Italian and Comparative Literature 

    Contact Information                    
Email: Lucamante@cua.edu
Office:   MCM210
Tel: 202-319-5240 or 6532
   
   
 

Marilyn Matar

Clinical Assistant Professor, French

    Contact Information                    
Email: matar@cua.edu
Office:   MCM402C
Tel: 202-319-6857
 
 

Jennifer Ann Maxwell 

Director of Spanish for Health Care Program

Lecturer, Spanish

    Contact Information                    
Email: maxwellj@cua.edu
Office:   MCM402B
Tel: 202-319-6857
   
 

 Charmaine McMahon

Clinical Assistant Professor, Spanish

Spanish Advisor

    Contact Information                    
Email: mcmahonc@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401F
Tel: 202-319-6856
   
      
 

Jennifer O'Riordan

Lecturer, French, Irish Language and Culture

 

 

    Contact Information                    
Email: oriordan@cua.edu
Office:   MCM401B
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
 

Mario A. Ortiz                    

Associate Provost for International Affairs

Associate Professor of Spanish

Contact Information                    
Email:  ortizm@cua.edu
Office:   MCM110
Tel: 202-319-4698
   
  
 

Stephanie Pridgeon

Visiting Assistant Professor, Spanish

Contact Information
Email:  pridgeon@cua.edu
Office:    MCM210A
Tel: 202-319-6532 or 5240
   

 

 

Mayka S. Puente de Righi 

Instructor

Placement Coordinator

Spanish Heritage Learner specialist

Contact Information
Email: puente@cua.edu 
Office:   MCM206A
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

 

 

Katharina Rudolf

Clinical Assistant Professor, German

Advisor, German Studies

Contact Information                    
Email: rudolf@cua.edu
Office:   MCM206A
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
   

Amanda Sheffer

Clinical Assistant Professor, German

Acting Basic Language Coordinator

 

Contact Information                    
Email: sheffer@cua.edu
Office:   MCM 206A
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
 

Peter Shoemaker

Director of the University Honors Program

Vice Provost and Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs, Arts and Sciences  

Associate Professor of French

Contact Information
Email: shoemaker@cua.edu
Office:   MCMB13
Tel: 202-319-6160
   

 

Chelsea Stieber

Assistant Professor, French

French Academic Advisor

On leave, Fall 2015

Contact Information                    
Email:   stieber@cua.edu
Office:   MCM206B
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

 

Emma Vazzana

 Lecturer, Italian Studies

Contact Information                    
Email:   vazzana@cua.edu
Office:   MCM403
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

Emma Vazzana

 Lecturer, Italian Studies

Contact Information                    
Email:   vazzana@cua.edu
Office:   MCM403
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

Emeriti

Joan Tasker Grimbert 

Ordinary Professor of French & Medieval Studies(Emerita)

Contact Information
Email:  Grimbert@cua.edu
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

 

 

Hanna H. Marks

Associate Professor of German (Emerita)

    Contact Information                    
Email: Marks@cua.edu
Office:   MCM 208
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
 

Mario A. Rojas

Ordinary Professor of Spanish (Emeritus)

Contact Information
Email:  Rojas@cua.edu
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
 

Chad C. Wright

Associate Professor of Spanish (Retired) 

    Contact Information                    
Email: Wrightc@cua.edu
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
   

Staff

 

Flor M Argueta

Academic Coordinator

    Contact Information                    
Email: Arguetaf@cua.edu 
Office:   MCM208
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
   
 

 

Media Director

    Contact Information                    
Email: @cua.edu
Office:   MCM204
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
  
   
 

Teaching Fellows

Alejandro Armenteros

Teaching Fellow, Spanish

Contact Information

Email: 62armenteros@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240 or 6541
 

Meabh Collins                  

Fulbright Teaching Assistant, Irish

 

 

Contact Information

Email: 19collins@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401B
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

 

Nélida Devesa Gómez 

Teaching Fellow, Spanish

 Contact Information
Email: 44devesagmez@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
 
 

Patty Diaz Suzarte

Teaching Fellow, Spanish

    Contact Information

Email: 54diazsuzarte@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
 

 

   

Verónica Enamorado

Teaching Fellow, Spanish

Contact Information     
Email: 21enamoradodaz@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

   

 

María José Gutiérrez

Teaching Fellow, Spanish

Contact Information

Email: 76gutierrez@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

Sergio Restrepo

Teaching Fellow, Spanish 

Contact Information

Email: 72restrepomesa@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
   
 

Lucas Rigonato

Fulbright Teaching Assistant,

Portuguese

Contact Information

Email: 73rigonato@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

 

 

 

Nieves Sanchez Gomez

Teaching Fellow,

Spanish

Contact Information

Email: 97snchezgmez@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240
   

Adam Zeidan

Teaching Fellow,

Arabic

Contact Information

Email: 94zeidan@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Office:   MCM401
Tel: 202-319-5240